Potato Tacos

Two nights ago I made some really good potato tacos. They were pretty simple to be honest and didn’t take too long to make. I’d say the longest part was the potatoes roasting. If I could change anything about the recipe it would be the tortillas. Evan really loves flour tortillas but I really enjoy corn tortillas. Normally I would make his with flour and mine with corn but we were out 😦 I also wanted to let you guys know that I will be doing recipes where I take pictures while I’m cooking, I just didn’t do that for this and the next one that I will post!

So for the recipe you’ll need:

10 small potatoes (You can use less if needed, I was making enough for 2 dinners & 2 lunches the next day)

Flour tortillas (I actually prefer sprouted corn tortillas but flour is what we had)

Vegan sour cream (I use followyourheart)

Handful of baby spinach

Handful of grape tomatoes

Half of a red onion

Hot Sauce of your choice

Optional: Vegan beefless grounds. We used a little bit of the new Lightlife beefless ground beef to see how it was and it wasn’t too bad. But you definitely don’t need any in this unless you just want it.

2 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast

2 Tbsp Cumin

2 Tbsp Paprika

2 Tbsp Garlic Powder

Salt & Pepper to taste

1 Tsp Cayenne Pepper

2 Tbsp Oil of choice (I used a mix of avocado oil & olive oil)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 F. While your oven is preheating go ahead and wash all of your potatoes. If you don’t want the skin, skin the potatoes, if you don’t mind the skin then make sure the scrub them really good. Cut them into tiny bite sized cubes.

Go ahead and mix all of the spices, oil, and potatoes together. If you’re using parchment paper on a baking sheet, go ahead and put potatoes on it. If you’re not using anything under the potatoes you’ll need to spray the pan with nonstick cooking spray.

The potatoes will take about an hour but check on them around the 30 minute mark to see if they are soft enough for your liking and to move them around.

While your potatoes are cooking you can go ahead and prep the veggies that you’ll be using and cook the beefless ground beef if you’re using it.

I like to cut my grape tomatoes into fours and cut the spinach into little shreds, also cut up the red onion.

At this point, your potatoes should be close to being done, so you can go ahead and warm up your tortillas. If you’re using a microwave it should only take a few seconds but warming them in the oven might be a better option in my opinion.

Then, you can get assemble them however you want to! I also added some pickled jalapenos since those are my all time favorite, but I forgot to add them before taking the picture.

Leave a Reply

