Skillet Nachos

So, while we were in Portland we met an amazing woman who told us about this little vegan market and I picked up a few items but two that I was most excited about was vegan nacho cheese sauce mix & coconut bacon!

Now I normally make my own homemade nacho cheese sauce when I want it, but I have to say, I was pretty excited to just give it a try and see how I like it and yes it was really good. The coconut bacon also tasted really amazing!

DSC_1711

DSC_1713

Naturally I wanted to make some nachos with these two items, so I did and they were so good! Normally I would use a few other things in my nachos but I’m currently trying to clear out the food that I do have before doing my grocery shopping this weekend, so I kind of used whatever I had. Keep in mind you can add or take away anything in this recipe.

Ingredients:

1 bag of tortilla chips or homemade tortilla chips

1 can of black beans

1 can of corn

1 can of diced tomatoes (You can use fresh but I was using up what I had in the kitchen)

1 serving of nacho cheese sauce

Pickled jalapenos

Handful of coconut bacon

Handful of shredded baby spinach

1 Tbsp of vegan sour cream (I use followyourheart)

1 Tbsp cumin

1 Tbsp Paprika

3 Tbsp Nutritional yeast

Dash of salt and pepper

Non stick cooking spray

Instructions:

Preheat your oven to 375 F. While the oven is preheating go ahead and open you beans, corn and tomatoes. Rinse your beans really good, otherwise you’ll get tooty.

Add your corn and beans together on a medium heat and add the cumin, paprika, 2 Tbsp of nutritional yeast, and salt & pepper.

Then start cooking your nacho cheese sauce and add the remaining tablespoon of nutritional yeast.

After everything is mix and well combined you can start creating your nachos. I like to do it in two different layers. So first spray your cast iron skillet with nonstick cooking spray and add a layer of chips. Then add the corn and beans mixture with nacho cheese and tomatoes & repeat for the next layer.

After your nachos are assembled put them in the oven for about 15-20 minutes. After everything is nice and hot and the tortilla chips are a little toasty go ahead and top them with the spinach, coconut bacon and pickled jalapenos!

They were really good, we had a serving for dinner and a few hours later ate the leftovers while we watched Netflix. Also, soggy nachos are the best and I know tons of people think that’s gross, but hey, it’s my belly they’re going into 😛 Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

