Veggie Alfredo Pasta!

Last night I was craving a really hearty, heavy meal. I always get those cravings when I’m feeling a little extra stressed out than usual. I wanted to make a vegan Alfredo but I didn’t want to have it be extremely unhealthy. How did I make that happen? I kept the vegan butter to a minimum, skipped out on the fake vegan cheese, and added all the veggies I had in my freezer/refrigerator.

As I mentioned in a previous post, I am currently still trying to get rid of some frozen foods that we had left over in our refrigerator from a few weeks ago whenever we went on vacation. So, ideally I would have loved to have fresh broccoli in this recipe, but I used what I had before purchasing more.

DSC_1791.JPG

Ingredients:

1 box of pasta of your choice (I used Ziti because that’s what we had in the pantry.)

2 handfuls of Baby Spinach

1/2 bag of frozen broccoli

1 can of coconut milk (Make sure it’s been in the refrigerator for at least 5 hours.)

3 Green Onion

3 Tbsp minced Garlic

4 Tbsp Vegan Butter (I use Earth Balance)

4 Tbsp Flour (I use All-Purpose)

1/2 C of Unsweetened Original Almond Milk (Any milk substitute will work, just make sure it doesn’t have any sweetness to it otherwise it will change the difference of the dish.)

1 Jar of Sun dried Tomatoes

Optional:

Gardein Chicken-less chicken (I used this just because I needed to use up my frozen foods to get more groceries this weekend) Tofu is a great substitute for this.

DSC_1797.JPG

Spices:

1/2 Tbsp Parsley

1 Tbsp Basil

1 Tsp Paprika

1 Tsp Garlic N’ Herd Seasoning (Best stuff every made)

1 Tbsp Garlic Powder (If you aren’t into garlic as much as us, use a little less)

Salt & Pepper to taste

2 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast

Directions:

Boil the water for your pasta. While you’re waiting for your water to boil go ahead and add the vegan butter to your other saucepan. Once the butter has melted, add the minced garlic and allow to cook for just a minute or two. Add flour and whisk until combined.

Add half a cup of water into another small saucepan and bring to a boil, once the water is boiling add in the frozen broccoli and cover. Cook for 5 minutes, then set aside.

Drain sun dried tomatoes if it’s in oil, otherwise just cut tomatoes into small bite sized pieces and add into garlic butter mixture. Allow this to cook for 1-2 minutes. By this time your water should be boiling, so add in the pasta.

Then add the can of coconut milk. Once the coconut milk is melted go ahead and add in all of the spices, spinach, broccoli, chopped green onion, and fake chicken (If you’re using). I’d suggest cutting up the fake chicken. Now would be the time to add the almond milk because your sauce should start thickening a lot.

Once pasta is done cooking, drain and mix together with Alfredo sauce. Top with more basil, nutritional yeast, or whatever else you like!

This recipe can be made in a lot of different ways. Any vegetable can be added or taken away. Enjoy!

DSC_1793

Once the butter has melted add the minced garlic and allow to cook for just a minute or two. Add flour and whisk until combined.

DSC_1794

Cut tomatoes into small bite sized pieces and add into garlic butter mixture. Allow this to cook for 1-2 minutes.

DSC_1799

Add can of coconut milk and melt!

DSC_1805

Once the coconut milk is melted go ahead and add in all of the spices, spinach, broccoli, chopped green onion, and fake chicken (If you’re using).

IMG_20170914_190225_783

Now, eat up! I know we did! 🙂

Leave a Reply

