Tofu scramble & Potato Breakfast Burrito

I said that I would be recreating some of our favorite foods from our Portland/Seattle vacation, and one of our favorite dishes while we were there was breakfast burritos! I think we had three or four breakfast dishes that involved burritos and I wasn’t mad about it.

Now, I’m not saying this is healthy by any means because I am using some processed ingredients, so you can substitute anything you want.

Ingredients for Potatoes:

3-4 Medium Potatoes

1/2 Small Red Onion

 

1 Tbsp Cumin

2 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast

1 Tsp Basil

Salt & Pepper to taste

1 Tbsp Minced Garlic

1 Tbsp Garlic Powder

1/2 Tsp Dried Chives

Ingredients for Tofu Scramble:

Extra Firm Tofu

2 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast

1/2 Tsp Basil

1/2 Tsp Dried Chives

1/2 Tsp Parsley

1/2 Tsp Turmeric

Handful of Grape Tomatoes

Ingredients for Burrito:

Vegan Sour Cream or Vegan Mayo (I use Followyourheart & Just Hampton)

Burrito Tortillas

Baby Spinach

Vegan Cheddar Cheese (I used So Delicious and I think it’s one of my new favorite vegan cheeses)

Hot sauce of your choice (Mine if from Whole Foods and it’s very good!)

Vegan Bacon (I use Lightlife and it’s my all time favorite but most people don’t like it for some reason)

Instructions:

We are going to start with the potatoes since that’s what is going to take the longest. Boil some water for your potatoes and while the water is getting ready, go ahead and peel your potatoes and cut them into bite sized pieces. Once the water is boiling, add the potatoes.

They should only need about 10-12 minutes to get tender and then you’ll want to drain them.

Chop the onion while your potatoes are boiling and saute them for about 5 minutes and then add your potatoes to the pan. Add in the spices and allow everything to cook for about 10-15 minutes or until the potatoes start to crisp.

Stir them every once in a while, but not too much.

While the potatoes are frying go ahead and start the tofu scramble. I already have a recipe on here for my tofu scramble, but this one is very simple and quick.

Add tofu to a pan and then add all the spices and scramble for a few minutes until tofu is warmed through.

While the tofu and potatoes are cooking, cook the vegan bacon. The bacon I use normally takes about 3 minutes per side. I like mine really crispy, so I like to leave it about 4-5 minutes per side.

After the tofu, bacon, and potatoes are done, it’s time to assemble the burrito!

Add potatoes, tofu, bacon, spinach, sour scream, vegan cheese and roll. After the burrito is rolled up, put it in a pan and allow each side to cook for about 2 minutes and then top with some hot sauce and enjoy. 🙂

DSC_1813

Burrito tortillas, sour scream, mayo, minced garlic, baby spinach, hot sauce, and cheddar cheese.

DSC_1808

Fry potatoes and onion together for about 10-15 minutes.

DSC_1816

Make the tofu scramble while the potatoes are frying.

DSC_1811

Fry up the bacon while the tofu and potatoes are cooking! I know it doesn’t look amazing but it actually tastes really good.

DSC_1821

Assemble this yummy breakfast burrito and enjoy!

DSC_1825

Like I said before if you want to substitute any of the processed foods for something healthier feel free.

Suggestions:

Instead of using Vegan bacon, try using coconut bacon. Coconut bacon is something that I recently tried and I absolutely love it.

Instead of using Vegan Mayo/Sour Scream you could use something homemade.

 

Leave a Reply

