Potato & Cheese Taquitos

Alright, so one of our favorite dishes from Portland, OR was potato taquitos from this little Mexican restaurant. I couldn’t believe that I had never had a potato taquito before. So, when we got home from our vacation one of the things I wanted to do was recreate some of our favorite dishes to see if I could make something very similar! I hit the nail with these taquitos!

Ingredients for Potato Taquitos:

Corn Tortillas (I use the sprouted ones from Whole Foods)

4 Medium Potatoes

1/2 C Almond Milk

3 Tbsp Vegan Butter (I use Earth Balance)

Salt & Pepper to Taste

1 Tbsp Dried Chives

1 Tbsp Vegan Sour Scream (I use Followyourheart)

1/2 C Vegan Cheddar Cheese (I use So Delicious and yes it tastes really good)

Handful of Baby Spinach

Toothpicks

Ingredients for Guacamole: 

2 Avocados

Handful of Grape Tomatoes

1/4 C Red Onion

Salt & Pepper to Taste

Instructions:

The very first thing you want to do is get a pot of water boiling for your potatoes. While the water is heating up go ahead and peel your potatoes and rinse them.

Cut each potato up into smaller sections and put into the boiling water. They should only take about 10 minutes.

While the potatoes are boiling make the guacamole. Cut open the avocados and put it into a bowl. Chop up the tomatoes and onion and add them into the bowl as well. Season with salt and pepper.

The potatoes should be done at this point. Drain the potatoes, add to a mixing bowl, and mash with a potato masher. Add milk, butter, salt, pepper, and chives and mix.

At this point, you can fry them in a skillet or bake them. However, I am going to be using my deep fryer that I recently got. Not healthy, but fun 😛

Allow your oil to heat to 350 F.

While your oil heats up wrap your corn tortillas up in a damp paper towel and put into the microwave for about 45 seconds. This will help the tortillas not break and I HIGHLY recommend not skipping this step.

Add a few tablespoons of mashed potatoes and cheese to each tortilla and roll up. Use two tooth picks for each tortilla to hold everything together.

Add one at a time in the deep fryer and allow to fry for 3-4 minutes.

Put each taquito on a cooling rack to allow the extra oil to drain. Chop up the handful of baby spinach.

After the taquitos are done, remove the toothpicks and plate them with the sour scream, chopped baby spinach, and guacamole. Enjoy!

This is something I will be making again in the future! 3 filled me up for a few hours, but I wanted to eat a lot more!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

