Vegan Egg & Ham Breakfast Sandwich

I know what you’re thinking, egg and ham? Vegan?

I recently wanted to try to make tofu look like an egg. Just for fun. Now, this doesn’t really taste like an egg. So if you are looking for a recipe where it would taste like one, this isn’t the recipe for you. I don’t know about you, but since cutting eggs out of my diet I don’t crave them at all. In fact, whenever I smell them it makes me a little sick to my stomach.

This is going to taste like a mild tofu scramble, just without all the peppers and tomatoes that I normally add into my scrambles. 

DSC_1949.JPG

DSC_1948.JPG

Add the Turmeric, Garlic Powder, Nutritional Yeast, and Salt & Pepper to the tofu. Make sure when you add the Turmeric that you coat each side and around the edges. This is what is going to make the tofu yellow.

DSC_1955

Add that yummy hot sauce to each bite & enjoy!

Ingredients:

1 Block of Extra Firm Tofu

English Muffins

Handful of Baby Spinach

Vegan Ham (I use the Yves brand)

Vegan Mayo (I use Just Hampton)

Vegan Cheese (I use So Delicious)

1 Tsp Turmeric

1 Tbsp Garlic Powder

1 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast

Salt & Pepper to Taste

1 Tbsp Olive Oil

Optional:

Hot Sauce ( I use my all time favorite, Cholula *Chili & Garlic Flavor)

Directions:

Add the olive oil into a skillet on medium heat. Press your tofu and try to get as much water out of it as you can. Now, you don’t have to do this over night or anything like that. Just try to get a good bit out while your oil is heating up.

Stand the tofu up and cut the tofu into three slices. So instead of having one big block of tofu, you will have three slices of tofu. Then, using a drinking glass, slice the tofu. This will create the circular shape that resembles an egg.

Add the Turmeric, Garlic Powder, Nutritional Yeast, and Salt & Pepper to the tofu. Make sure when you add the Turmeric that you coat each side and around the edges. This is what is going to make the tofu yellow.

Add the tofu into the skillet and cook about 5 minutes on each side. Then Add a small amount of cheese to one side and allow it to melt. In the same skillet, add a few slices of the vegan ham and allow them to warm up. It should only take about a minute per side.

In the mean time, cut and toast your English muffins. Add some vegan mayo & spinach to the English Muffin and top with a slice of tofu and two sliced of vegan ham! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

